Blackhat Publish time 2012-3-28 08:26

Linen from a Fabric Store; can you stitch on it?

I have been wondering about this one for a while. Buying linen from a cross-stitch shop is expensive, and you never get very much. Also, there's the limitation of what colors you can get... has anyone tried buying linen (or linen-look) fabric by the yard from a fabric shop that sells it in bolts? If so, have you had any luck stitching on it? Is there a certain kind to look for, or some process to prepare the fabric to make it easier to stitch on?

Maybe this is a common practice among you expert stitchers, but I'm still a novice. :P Please let me know!

mardy Publish time 2020-2-8 01:10

It may not be even, same number of threads per inch going up or side to side.It depends how precise the pattern needs to be

htsear13 Publish time 2022-2-10 06:55

Following this thread

manolimu Publish time 2023-9-6 02:00

Siguiendo este hilo

Knitpurlsm Publish time 2024-4-9 01:27

Thanks for the info!

manolimu Publish time 2023-12-23 16:28

Thank you very much!

lindakfr Publish time 2012-3-28 11:17

I think linen is linen regardless of where you buy it. Just look for a good quality linen and try a piece.

Blackhat Publish time 2012-3-28 12:27

lindakfr replied at 2012-3-28 08:17 static/image/common/back.gif
I think linen is linen regardless of where you buy it. Just look for a good quality linen and try a...

I did actually try a piece I had on hand, but the fibers making up the grid slid around and didn't hold the floss at even the lightest tension. I'm wondering if maybe I had the wrong thing, or the wrong weave...?

HollyBlue Publish time 2012-3-28 15:12

Linen does that anyway - I always stitch over 2 with linen - never been able to stitch over 1 and have it make a cross.

Blackhat Publish time 2012-3-29 03:01

HollyBlue replied at 2012-3-28 12:12 static/image/common/back.gif
Linen does that anyway - I always stitch over 2 with linen - never been able to stitch over 1 and ha ...