| | |

PinDIY.com

Forgot password?
 Register
Search
Hot search: Doll Doll M p cat doll
View: 1637|Reply: 20
Collapse the left

[Tips Discussion] How do you clean finished cross-stitch work?

[Copy link]
Post time: 2016-6-24 00:33
| Show all posts |Read mode
Hello, I'm fairly new to cross stitching. I just bought Dimension's kit and have been working on it.
While working on the kit, I made pencil marks for guide and the fabric got dirty and wrinkly.
Can I use washing-machine? or Do I have to hand wash it? Can I iron my fabric? Do colors fade?
The fabric is beige cotton Aida

Thank you.

When someone visits this page from a link you share, you will be rewarded

Post time: 2020-12-23 05:00
| Show all posts
To remove pencil from aida cloth I recommend using a solution of 3-tablespoons of lukewarm to cold water with 2 to 3 drops of a clear liquid dish soap and 1-teaspoon of rubbing alcohol. Using a soft clean toothbrush dab into your solution and delicately brush the pencil mark. Rinse thoroughly with clean cold water and place onto a towel to dry flat. If once dry the stain is not removed repeat.  
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

Post time: 2017-4-7 19:54
| Show all posts
hmm, If I am unsure of colorfast floss, I fix them (with vinegar or special solution) - so they won´t bleeb when be washed. I grid my fabric with a special pen (disappear if in contact with water) or special thread, .. when I am finished I like to wash my piece in lukewarm wter with a little drop of soap - let it soak a bit and clean itunder fresh water, Put it on a colth and let it dry! Be careful when you have beads on the fabric, wah it first and iron it - THEN bead it! When the fabric is dry I iron it - you can damp it a bit, and make sure you use a  cloth as protection. Keep ypur iron not too hot, it takes a little longer, but you can be sure of you donßt "hurt" it =) have fun!

Use magic Report

Post time: 2016-6-30 21:01
| Show all posts
Edited by anniekins at 2016-7-1 22:59